1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

Why Starbound was disappointing to me. (Listed reasons of why. Hopefully not TL;DR)

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by Vsuchinoko, Oct 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vsuchinoko

Vsuchinoko Phantasmal Quasar

While making a comment on Reddit describing my Early Access experiences I made this long list.

Background consumer knowledge: I backed Starbound way back in February of 2013 and was really excited. I've been playing the game's Beta since December 2013, on and off, up until June of 2014.

I know Starbound is not officially out yet but this is a list of why I think Starbound feels so disappointing to a lot of people and I want to ask if these design choices are going to be kept, improved, thrown-out, or already changed. I also want to see a discussion if anyone else has felt the same way and other things you've picked up that erked you the wrong way. I hope this actually helps Chucklefish improve the game! And also, keep their job together within community basis.

• NPC interaction is uninteresting. They leave no meaningful interaction
    The NPC's aesthetics, looks, and different homes and village styles are all SO INTERESTING but in the end, they have NO character. You may see them spawn text once in awhile but you will never have a meaningful action with them. You can trade with them, but you never really learn about them. They don't even interact in their homes interestingly. They follow simple walk back and forth, run away from monster patterns. Sometimes they will attack other groups BUT even then you don't have a context because you don't hear them say like "I hate (insert race here)". There is no context.