Tutorial [TUTORIAL] Adding new monster parts to Starbound

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by JellyGem, Feb 10, 2014.

1. JellyGem

JellyGem Starship Captain

So, you want to spice up the creature variation a little bit? Have little knowledge of coding but want to but your spriting skills to use? Then, you came to the right place! Keep in mind, although I am writing this tutorial, I have very little coding knowledge so making more dramatic changes besides inserting new sprite parts is something I can't really help you with.

HOW TO BEGIN
    First, you are going to want to acquire some templates for your sprites. The way they appear in the game is based on how they're placed in the .png file, so it's very important that you follow the templates. I'm going to work on making a template for each monster type (not done yet) but for this example, let's make our own little template using the small bipedal head category.

IMPORTANT: All the files you are gonna be using are located in assets/monsters/and then either 'flying', 'ground', or 'swimming' depending on which type of monster you want to make. To find your starbound folder, go to Steam and on your game list (left-hand side) right click on 'Starbound'>properties>local files>browse local files

Now that that's out of the way, let's go to ground>smallbiped>organic>head>flower. Let's make a copy of this folder and paste it back into the head subfolder, and then open the copy. This is to avoid getting rid of the original head. We will see a flowerhead.monsterpart file and a flowerhead.png file.

.PNG

Open flowerhead.png in your favorite art program, preferably one with layers. You should see this: Screen Shot 2014-02-09 at 9.30.04 PM.png
    [ignore the dark grey space, that's just the background of my art program]