1. Thanks for visiting! These forums are for the original Risk of Rain, if you're interested in discussing the newly released Risk of Rain 2 head over to that game's steam discussion forum
    Dismiss Notice

Risk of Rain protocol

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alyphen, Nov 5, 2014.

1. alyphen

alyphen Master Chief

Introduction

I recently started playing RoR, and I felt that there was a lot of untapped potential in the multiplayer. The game is a lot of fun, but multiplayer seems a little unstable and not quite as customisable as it could be. I was curious, and decided I wanted to write a custom server, and in order to do that, I needed to work out the protocol.

From a few weeks' work, I now have most of the protocol - though there are still some unknown fields in packets that will require some more experimentation & research.

Protocol

The client initialises the connection. The server then responds with GM:Studio-Connect.
    See https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XChii2gp_JLRgoa97r03n1PYbaWTjcRrbXEbC_nP9Bk/edit?usp=sharing for individual packet information - some packets may not make sense in the clientbound or serverbound context, I have yet to identify which are used where completely.
    GM:Studio prefixes a header to each packet. This header is currently the following:
    -34, -64, -83, -34, 12, 0, 0, 0, [length], 0, 0, 0
    where [length] is the length of the data after the header.
    Next is the packet ID, followed by the data. See the spreadsheet for how each packet uses this.

I'll try and update this thread with any of my findings, and when I manage to write my custom server, I'll release it on my GitHub so that we can create a decent, stable, server-side modding platform for this game, and anyone who wishes to learn from it can.

Any information anyone already has on this is greatly appreciated - if we can improve the experience of the RoR community in any way, shape or form, that's awesome.

Last edited: Nov 26, 2014