Modding Discussion (Request) Beards for Novakids?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Flannel, Mar 8, 2017.

1. Flannel

Flannel Subatomic Cosmonaut

I've been looking really hard for a mod that gives facial hair to novakids. Unfortunately, the only ones I've found are... Mediocre at best. I want actual beards for them, and not just mustaches that makes it look like they have a swollen mouth.

[​IMG]

2. bk3k

bk3k Oxygen Tank

You want your plasma women to have beards? Who am I to judge?

Seriously though, I'm no character artist aside from small edits. I'd guess we're talking lots of faint lines, but also less than full opacity on the area between the lines(probably done by directives rather than the image alpha). It doesn't look like fullbright is an option for races, but then I don't really know races.

Heck, take some short hair, turn it up side down. That could be a funny idea for a race anyhow. They normally have their "hair" where we'd have a beard. Only the males might be not bald up top, growing something like a beard(more minor than the hair)... Or it could be the females because aliens need not conform to our human norms.

3. IHart

IHart Scruffy Nerf-Herder

Please share the examples that you have. I have been doing a lot of sprite work recently i'd love to give it a shot.

4. Flannel

I actually play as a Novaboy, and I was mostly wanting cute beards n stuff to make my cute star boys even cuter. I don't mind the girls getting beards tho. (I encourage it, tbh.)

This is the mod I was talking about. I don't like how the facial hair looks on the novakids that they made, because it makes it look either completely out of place or like they have a swollen mouth. (Seems they mostly just gave Novakids mustaches? I want beards, not mustaches!)

5. IHart

Those do look pretty stupid. I'm gunna start trying stuff out, if you have more concept art or other inspiration throw it at me please.

6. Flannel