Modding Help Newbie Here: Finished a small mod, but can't get it to work. Would love some advice!

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Velocidapper, Feb 12, 2018.

1. Velocidapper

Velocidapper Void-Bound Voyager

Hello everyone,

So I recently got into Starbound and after seeing the selection of mods (and downloading a few to play around with) I decided to get into the modding game the myself to build stuff for myself and friends.

I've been looking at a fair number of tutorials, and the game seems easy enough to mod so before diving into more of the bigger stuff that I have planned, I decided to quickly make a cosmetic mod (basically adds two wearable face masks) and see if I could implement it into the game.

...Turns out, I cannot get this pretty simple mod to work because as soon as I put it in and boot up Starbound, the game CTDs. So I went back, checked the tutorials I've used, looked at the code of other similar mods akin to mine that work just fine when I put them in, and haven't been able to come up with any solid solution.

Despite being a Game Designer and knowing how to program (albeit it's not forte as I am more of an art guy), I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong here. I am sure it's something simple that I completely missed, but at the moment I'd just like to see if I
    can get help from seasoned modders who might be willing to help me out and tell me what I might be doing wrong.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. DrPvtSkittles

DrPvtSkittles Master Astronaut

Line 114: [15:27:28.590] [Error] Exception caught loading asset: /player.config, (AssetException) Could not read JSON asset /player.config
    Line 201: Caused by: (JsonParsingException) Error parsing json: unexpected character parsing word at 4:1

Removed the last comma

Then cleaned the rest up.

Attached Files:

3. DrPvtSkittles

Also be mindful of folder names. You had 'armor' but it needed to be 'armors'.

4. Velocidapper