Modding Discussion Large Scale Developmental Project UPDATED

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Prezee, Jun 7, 2014.

?

Do you think this project would be beneficial to the game in the long run?

1. Yes

50.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Undecided

50.0%
  1. Prezee

Prezee Void-Bound Voyager

Hello all!

To any programmers out there, please read the following as it may benefit you. To all others, skip the first paragraph if you would like to see what I am working on.

My name is Kyle M. and I am a software engineer in my third year of university. I greatly enjoy the process of programming, as well as the aspects, benefits, and fundamental concepts of working in a large group. As such I am taking on a brand new project. I am going to overhaul Starbounds modding to the next level, not only in content but in possibilities. I am looking to not only expand the modding availability, but to innovate the modding itself. I plan to do this through extension languages, additional programming that will grab and manage the base code of the game, and large scale comparability patches allowing almost any number of mods to coincide with each other with no issues. I require zero knowledge of the programming world for anybody who wishes to join, but do recommend that you have at least 1-2 hours a day to work on this, and an understanding or group projects. Anybody with C++, assembly, LUA, and at least one person should have SQL knowledge (if nobody is available I will be taking this on myself but I would prefer to be doing the large scale debugging and programming.

The planned features thus far (which will be collaborated with the team for expanding and removal of redundant features)

-A base IDE which runs off plugins. This will be expanded and updated each release.
    -Ability to add new parameters.
    -Ability to modify current parameters/
    -Expanded ability to add content.
    -Usable SQL data basing with NO additional programs needed to the end user.