Modding Help How do I make a gun apply knockback to myself?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Low IQ Space Raptor, Sep 26, 2023.

1. Low IQ Space Raptor

Low IQ Space Raptor Space Spelunker

Hello all, I've just joined the Starbound forums so forgive me if this post is structured improperly, this is my first time here.
    I've come asking for some advice or assistance, I have made a pistol with a charge mechanic and I desire to make the gun push the player away when firing the fully charged projectile. So far I thought about using the code from a grappling hook with some slight modification to get the desired effect, but I am unsure what to nab from it's code nor how to apply it to the gun. I am not that experienced in coding, this'd be my first time making something so advanced hence my confusion and requirement for assistance.
    I hope that those with a better understanding of modding can provide some assistance, either on what I need from the grappling hook or some other alternative to achieve what I desire.

Edit as of 9/29/23: Also how do I make stance changes effect the full charge? I know this hasn't anything to do with the title but I didn't desire to make another post for something pertaining to the same weapon.
    In essence I can get the gun to have a two handed stance whilst using the normal fire, however I am unable to make it apply to the fully charged shot and all attempts either have no effect or crashes the game outright.
    I had to use the code from the already present charge weapons such as the dragonhead pistol and charge gun, if that information helps.