Game development and engine decision

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thedigit, Jul 1, 2013.

1. thedigit

thedigit Space Spelunker

Hey,

I'm a software developer who has wanted to experiment with game development for YEARS. I have been looking for a game like stardew valley and nothing has ever been available. Needless to say, I am super excited for this game and eagerly awaiting a pre order option so I can show my support!

That being said, the developer inside of me is very curious... And I still eventually want to dabble in game development as a hobby. If you don't mind me asking a few questions I would love some answers...

1. What program do you write games like this in?
    2. Is the a particular engine you are using or do you code from the ground up?
    3. Is there any advice you could give a senior software developer who wants to dabble in game development? (I use OOP everyday and normally code in c, c# or vb.net)

Thank you in advance!

• thedigit

thedigit Space Spelunker

Sorry, typo on phone for question #1. Should be, What language do you develop games like this in.

• Active Link

Active Link Master Astronaut

You can edit your posts.

Also, as for the question. C++ is a common standard among AAA studios, and allows a great amount of code portability (If you know what you're doing). Many indie devs use C# for various reasons, iirc it can be more beginner-friendly. You can also use java, though it's much less common (ex: Minecraft).

I'm pretty sure ConcernedApe is using C#.

A good way to get into game development (Especially if you already know how to code stuff) is to start with modding games and work your way up.

• oath2order

oath2order Parsec Taste Tester

Yeah, CA is definitely using C#.

• thedigit

thedigit Space Spelunker