Modding Help Can't add dialogue?

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Azellia, Sep 22, 2017.

1. Azellia

Azellia Scruffy Nerf-Herder

Recently, I've been trying to add some dialogue to the game, and while it's been going well for the most part, I'm unable to add any new dialogue to Shane's yaml for whatever reason. Everytime I add something new, xnb_node refuses to repack the yaml into an XNB. I'm new to modifying dialogue, but I don't think I'm doing anything seriously wrong. Here's an example of a line I'm trying to add, for reference:

Mon: "Are you growing any hot peppers on your farm right now? They're some of my favorites, you know." #!String

When I put that exact line into the original file, xnb_node refuses to repack it. Am I being a doofus and forgetting something simple, or is something up? I'm started to get a bit frusturated, as Shane is the last person whose dialogue I need to finish. Thanks in advance for any help!

• haywrites

haywrites Big Damn Hero

Did you try season_Mon? Like spring_Mon, fall_Mon, etc?

• Azellia

Alright, new update: all of my fIles now save, however, the edits I make don't seem to stick after I pack them back into an XNB. When I merge the files back, somehow EVERY SINGLE LINE of dialogue in the file gets cut out. The characters I've edited now only have one line of dialogue when I speak to them in game, which is 'Hi.' Why won't the changes I've made save - moreover, why does merging back into XML get rid of every single piece of dialogue in the file, including original dialogue?? Now each character has LESS dialogue than they did before I even started modding it.

(Just for the record - I've tried using regular Notepad and Notepad++ to edit the dialogue. Both of them delete all of my content immidiately after merging.)

• Savertin

Savertin Void-Bound Voyager