Modding Discussion Remaking the Universe!

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by lazarus78, May 22, 2015.

1. lazarus78

lazarus78 The Waste of Time

So restructuring the universe of Starbound has become my long term project. The end goal of which is to make stars and planets semi-realistic in how they are generated in the universe. (See link in signature)

To that end, I figured a thread to post my progress and get feedback was a good idea.

I plan on releasing periodic "mini-mods" as I go as a way to keep myself moving forward, and If I do have to quit work for some reason, you guys aren't left with a mess. One step at a time!

I'm not too good with properly structuring threads, so... uh... her are some pictures!

[​IMG]
    - Decreased star saturation from 1% to 0.2% (~20 Quintillion to ~8 Quintillion)
    - Renaming stars to official classification names based on star color.
    Get these changes now! Download the mod!

[​IMG]
    - More fitting planet images
    In this image:
    - Garden planet (Ring 1)
    - Arctic planet (Ring 2)
    - Forest Planet (Ring 3)
    - Magma Planet (Ring 4)
    - Volcanic planet (Ring 5)
    - Obligatory moon and ancient gateway

Future Work:
    - Fitting positions of planet types based on distance from the star.
    -- Down the line I may expand it to adjust it based on star size as well, maybe.
    - Make Ancient Gateway's rarer. ChuckleFish will probably do this later as well, but whatever.
    - Throw in a special, uber rare star, Sol. ( 3rd rock from Sol! )

I am doing with 1 star at a time, starting with White. My over-arching plan requires some core modifications to the celestial.config, so the next part to this that I release will be a 2 part release. It will likely be a straight up overhaul as I can't see this working via JSON Patches.

Anyhoo... Feedback, I am all ears. I want to make this right and as good as I can.

2. user2345562

user2345562 Guest

I'll try to download it as soon as I fix up my laptop :3