Modding Help Need help with an animated object

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by knightdude, Nov 21, 2016.

1. knightdude

knightdude Scruffy Nerf-Herder

So this is my first attempt at making a object with animation and so far so good but now when I launch the game and press "C" which was where I would craft said item the game just crashes. The object in it self is 142 x 230 and the inventory icon is 16 x 16 the recipe was working fine until I started to mess with the frames file. is there a limit to how big the object is or a limit to the frames since it currently has 11 frames of animation.

2. Inf_Wolf14

Inf_Wolf14 Parsec Taste Tester

You shouldn't worry about the frames. I've made objects with several hundred frames and they work.

However, I do believe there is a limit on the size of an object you can create...
    Tell me, is 142x230 the size in blocks or pixels? (I'm pretty sure you mean blocks, but I need to make sure.)

3. bk3k

bk3k Oxygen Tank

Please attach the log file that captured one of these crashes.

In fact also attach the files you're working on.

lazarus78 likes this.
  4. knightdude

Its pixels actually heres the file ti kinda give you an idea samuraispec.png

5. greenRAM

greenRAM Giant Laser Beams

No idea.

If you're comfortable with sharing it, you might want to upload what you have for your mod so far. Someone who has worked with animated objects before can then try to trouble shoot it for you and maybe figure out what went wrong. Figuring out what went wrong sometimes takes running it through the system a number of times as you check the error log and change small things each time. It usually takes awhile to figure out what broke. But, experience definitely speeds up the process.

6. knightdude

Well heres everything I got hopefully someone can take a look at it

Attached Files:

7. bk3k

bk3k Oxygen Tank

Caught a mistake in about 30 second lol.

Code:
    {

"frameGrid" : {
        "size" : [160, 240],