Modding Help Need help replacing armor texture?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Vafiveh, Feb 24, 2015.

1. Vafiveh

Vafiveh Void-Bound Voyager

I've spent almost two hours looking through forums and wikis but couldn't find a guide or how-to for simply replacing textures of armor.

Basically all I wanted to do was find an easy way of making the armor/clothes from my avatar, so I thought it would be easiest to just retexture an armor set. When I open my starbound to maybe find the files to edit, all of the folders are blank..
    Not sure what i'm doing, anyone feel like helping out?

2. Mackinz

Mackinz The Waste of Time

Have you unpacked your assets?

The | Suit likes this.
  3. Vafiveh

Nope, How does one do that? (I've never tried editing game files for any game, so i'm 200% the newbie here)

4. Mackinz

Mackinz The Waste of Time

5. The | Suit

The | Suit Agent S. Forum Moderator

Reading Stickies which say Modding Guides - is generally the best place to start learning.
    Modding is extremely simple if you know the basics.
    You can't expect a how-to guide for changing everything in S.B.

So its better just to learn the basics and apply what you learned.

6. Vafiveh

As I said, i had spent hours reading before posting but understood little. I've found and edited the files in the _unpacked folder, now how do I get that to work ingame?

7. FoggyPaws

FoggyPaws Subatomic Cosmonaut

Repack your assets and replace the packed.pak file you unpacked in the first place
    I recommend renaming the old one to packed.pak.old just in case you wanna go back, so that you don't have to re-download vanilla files, but it's up to you

8. The | Suit

Please do not teach people improper modding mechanics.
    '==
    http://community.playstarbound.com/...g-basics-p1-editing-vanilla-files-v1-3.86970/

Read the link and first make your own basic mod.
    The concept can be used to edit all vanilla files.

9. FoggyPaws

FoggyPaws Subatomic Cosmonaut