Modding Help How to make fist weapon send out projectiles?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Lazy Joe, Apr 12, 2017.

1. Lazy Joe

Lazy Joe Scruffy Nerf-Herder

The new activeitem format from 1.0 is still giving me a hard time.
    Can't even spawn a spear with 0.1 firetime without getting perfect generic item. Alot of things which used to be possible simply through editing the item's json are hard to figure out now, if not, even plain impossible to do without having to involve lua.
    But I'm not a coder, and I miss the old format which even makes it possible for someone like me who has zero coding knowledge to just grab some items and reverse engineer with help of starcheat, creating fun drawables to share/mess with friends.

With that said, I'm looking for people who is willing to teach me the basic about activeitem, it has too many lua features in it, the "builder" "scripts", all tied to lua. Can't simply edit the activeitem file and be done with it.

2. soldierfast90

soldierfast90 Pangalactic Porcupine

I'll see what I can do to help but your assumptions on lua-based items are wholly wrong on so many levels man.

The builder scripts are in NO WAY tied to how the actual weapon will work, the builders are literally just builders, without materials they can't work (terrible analogy I know). That's where the "activeitem" file comes in, that's where the nitty gritty stuff of weapon stats and stuff comes from.