1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

General help with orientation for buying a personal NAS to host a starbound server.

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by Zarathes, Sep 25, 2013.

1. Zarathes

Zarathes Master Chief

With the nearing release of Starbound beta somewhere this year I've been looking for a way to host a small server for about 5-10 man.
    I can't do this on my desktop pc because that would consume way too much electricity so I'm thinking about purchasing a personal NAS for hosting and personal use (I’m a software engineering student, so I program websites and stuff.
    Perhaps also a database) without my electricity bill exploding.

I thought this would be a nice place to ask because I bet there are more of you out there with similar thoughts or more experience with the NAS technology.
    So is there someone out there that can point me in the right direction or documentation involving orientation/ purchase and setting up a server.

I'm also interested in running servers for games like Minecraft, Terraria or Cube World so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

If this thread is in the wrong place, I'm sorry.

Edit: Broken fonds everywhere.

2. Skarn

Skarn Existential Complex

Ah... Sorry. I couldn't tell you anything you couldn't find with a google search.

Good luck though! Let us know how it goes, maybe I'll even join the server when it launches :)

3. Loxy

Loxy Pangalactic Porcupine

Too much electricity? care to elaborate.

All we know is that starbound doesnt require much itself to run, so a server for 5 people wouldnt require much at all.

Think Terraria :)

4. Zarathes

Zarathes Master Chief

Okey, I'll be abit more specific: Things to look for on the world wide web that help me pick the right NAS to buy ;)

5. Zarathes