Modding Help Fatal Exception? New to Modding.

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Vylcas, Dec 31, 2016.

1. Vylcas

Vylcas Space Hobo

Hey everyone, as the title says I'm new to modding. I'm just bored and want to try making simple and while I have everything ready, when I launch it says fatal exception error and a bunch of lines of code. From what I've looked up people are saying that means it's outdated, which I assume means my code is outdated. Is there anyone out there who can tell me how you make an item craft-able? I assume the problem lies with that.

2. Vylcas

Vylcas Space Hobo

Kept tossing files in and out to test things and it seems like the error only pops up when the .metadata file is in the folder and I don't understand why.

3. Antyrus

Antyrus Pangalactic Porcupine

It means your metadata is broken. Make sure you don't have any rogue/missing commas/brackets/parentheses. If you can't figure it out, copypaste it here.

4. Vylcas

Vylcas Space Hobo

{
    "author" : "Vylcas",
    "description" : "Pointless mod made just to prove a point to someone.",
    "friendlyname" : "name",
    "name" : "name",
    "version" : "1.0",
    }

That's all. I can have the file within the folders but it has to be tucked away. If it's near the top it'll keep crashing. The game doesn't process it existing otherwise.

5. The | Suit

The | Suit Agent S. Forum Moderator

You only add a comma if there is a line below it with data.
    No comma should be after
    Code:
    "version" : "1.0",

6. Vylcas

Vylcas Space Hobo

That seems to have worked, thanks! Guess I didn't even care to notice the comma lol. I have a question unrelated to this if it's allowed... or do I need to make a separate help page for that?

7. The | Suit

Nope same is fine

8. Vylcas

Vylcas Space Hobo