Modding Help Equipment Masks

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Inquisitribble, Jan 7, 2016.

1. Inquisitribble

Inquisitribble Void-Bound Voyager

I've been messing around with some simple equipment mods, and I was simply wondering if chestpieces and/or pants support mask files like helmets do, and if they do, what are the dimensions of each animation frame and what would the dimensions of the mask file be? I would assume that if there are mask files for these pieces of equipment, you would need a mask for each animation frame, but I have no experience in this sort of thing.

EDIT: Upon some digging around, animation frames seem to be 43x43. Do I need to mess with any JSON stuff to add in masks for chest/leg gear?

Last edited: Jan 7, 2016
  2. Mackinz

Mackinz The Waste of Time

Best Answer
    It shouldn't matter where in the file it gets added, top or bottom. That it doesn't work, however, speaks to a technical limitation.

Directives are very, very, very different from patch files. Directives are used in-game to do things like this:

[​IMG]

They affect the parameters of an item, object or tile. Do not use directives unless you know what you are doing or are willing to learn.

Inquisitribble likes this.
  3. lazarus78

lazarus78 The Waste of Time

Check and see how helmets do it. I can't recall off hand if they define the use of a mask or not.

4. Inquisitribble

I'm currently messing around with directives right now. Simply adding "mask" : "maskfile.png" to the .chest file didn't seem to do anything, but I'll see the addmask directive does anything if I add it to a .patch file.

EDIT: That didn't work, this is what I tried to do in the patch file:
    Code:
    [
    {
      "op" : "addmask",
      "file" : "chestmask.png",
      "path" : ""
    }
    ]
    I wouldn't doubt it if I messed something up, but the game started up at least. I guess it also doesn't help that I know next to nothing about this sort of stuff.

Last edited: Jan 7, 2016