Modding Discussion Additional Festivals?

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Tanpoponoko, Feb 7, 2017.

1. Tanpoponoko

Tanpoponoko Big Damn Hero

I'm very new to this whole modding world, but I'm a long-time Harvest Moon/Rune Factory/Animal Crossing/Stardew fan.

One thing I was really wanting while playing through this game the first time was a few more festivals during the year, maybe one or two per season. Maybe even something fun like a birthday party as well!

I know ZERO about how mods are created, so I apologize if this question is really silly, but is it possible to create new festivals through modding? I am a writer (several novels published, professional work for a company) and I would be more than willing to team up with someone to add some new festivals! I'd be happy to do any and all writing or event planning necessary, but I have no clue about the technical aspect of creating a mod.

Here are my ideas, largely inspired from Harvest Moon games:

1. New Year's Day/drinking contest (Spring 1st)
    Similar to Harvest Moon 64's drinking contest on New Year's day. Every time you speak to someone you cheers and drink. I don't know if it's possible to code in an alcohol tolerance value, but if not this could be done with quizzes from the characters. If you can out drink everyone in town, you get a prize of some sort.
    2. Tea Party (Spring 18th)
    A big tea party in the square with super cute decorations...maybe even dressing up for the characters! You can bring sweets and pass out to the villagers for a boost in FP/LP. Perhaps a little musical number happens at the end (Abigail on flute, Elliot on piano, etc.)
    3. Lantern Festival/tanabata (Summer 7)