Orbital Attacks (Because this hasnt been suggested before!)

Discussion in 'Mechanics' started by Sarzael, Sep 24, 2013.

1. Sarzael

Sarzael Oxygen Tank

Because this suggestion wasnt made enough times, nor though of by the Developers...
    Today i present you the way I THINK they should work.

And because im a great artist, today with... Eh... paint images (Can they really be called that?). (Mostly for concept, if any good artist likes the idea and wanna make em better i will be here... Criying about how im the best artist EVAR!

OK, First of all, we have our ship, orbiting over that nice planet. But it is useless so far. Its an mere base, somewhere to rest and travel, but not something that will really help us in any way. And thats wrong. While i dont expect such an half-crappy ship stolen with haste from whatever chases you down to destroy half planet, it is normal to guess that they will have ATLEAST some weaponry, right?
    Perhaps not at beggining, but that doesnt mean we shouldnt be able to equip them.

So, what im basically suggesting, is that we should be able to put weapons in the ship.

For what, you might be asking?
    To attack the planet, of course! While that most weapons wont do an heavy damage to the terrain, they may be useful in battle, overall when fighting masses.

But how do we aim?
    And here is where the crappy stuff (Doesnt deserve to be called images!) comes in.

First, we have our cannons, obviously at the bottom of the ship, ready to fire. We can modify their angles and position in the bottom of the ship. This may seem an aethestic modification only, but it isnt!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Unless you re blind or the images are even crappier than i though, you will have understood the basics. The zone marked to bombard will be the ´´Center`` and depending on the angles and position of the cannons in the ship the actual attacks will fall in different positions after it.