1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

Need some simple wiring help

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by pmbonomi, Jan 18, 2014.

1. pmbonomi

pmbonomi Void-Bound Voyager

Hi folks, I've seen some real geniuses here, so I'm hoping someone can help.

I have a hatch that, after activating, auto-closes pretty quickly. I'd like to use a small wall button to open it, and it needs to stay open just a bit longer (2 seconds or so), before auto closing.

Help? :)

2. OobleckTheGreen

OobleckTheGreen Space Kumquat

3. GewaltSam

GewaltSam Big Damn Hero

I am no pro with the wiring system, but try this:
    Connect it with a timer with 6 or 8 NOT gates in a row. The output should be 1 around 2 seconds later. It's not very elegant, but it works. There is another solution, but it is much more complicated. Look up the "advanced wiring guide" here in the forums.
    This is just out of my head, forgive me if I am wrong.

4. Eonwulf

Eonwulf Scruffy Nerf-Herder

Here is an example of how to create a continuous delay as well as extending the delay further.

Firstly the mechanisms you will need for a basic continuous delay.
    1x Button 1x Lever 1x OR Gate 1x AND Gate
    2x XOR Gate 1x NOT Gate 2x Timer

[​IMG]

Secondly the wiring behind it. Hopefully I spaced it out enough for you to see what goes where.

[​IMG]

Now to extend upon you need only add 1x NOT Gate, 1x XOR Gate and 1x Timer as shown. If you want longer and longer delays just keep extending and make sure that the last timer connects back to the AND gate.

[​IMG]

Here is a example of it in action.

[​IMG]

If you need any more wiring help, I have a basic wiring tutorial on youtube. It's not great but whatevs.

If you have anymore requests, let me know.

TheFloranChef, SeaJay and GewaltSam like this.
  5. SeaJay