Uniting the 3 Wikis?

Discussion in 'Wiki Discussion' started by jpmrocks, Sep 4, 2014.

1. jpmrocks

jpmrocks Phantasmal Quasar

So, hello all. I was thinking, why are there three separate Wikis? There's Starbounder (the best, imo), Gamepedia, and Wikia. I really think there should be some effort on moving everything from the Gamepedia and Wikia over to the unique host (Starbounder).
    I only bring this up, as I'm an admin on the Pikmin Wikia, and we're merging with the standalone host, Pikipedia (both two rivaling Pikmin Wikis for 4 years). It's really stupid to have 3 separate things for the same purpose.

Last edited: Sep 4, 2014
  2. demanrisu

demanrisu The Original Agaran Menace NPC

The only one endorsed by Chucklefish is Starbounder.

3. jpmrocks

I know, but it just seems plain foolish to not try to unite the three. I mean, why have three washing machines in your house for one person?

4. Jonesy

Jonesy Sarif's Attack Kangaroo Forum Moderator

But in that case, the washing machines are all owned by one person. We'd need to get into contact with whoever runs the unofficial ones, and coordinate with them. Could get messy, considering the differing architecture between wiki platforms.

The | Suit, Heartstrings and jpmrocks like this.
  5. jpmrocks

Actually, the process isn't to dirty. I mean, the wiki my wikia is transferring to has some fancy tech to keep everything organized. All it could take is some Skype chats and a lot of labor. I can help easily with merging, or get guys to help with merging if merging the wikis is something the community wants to see. It would just take time and effort. And possible contact info.

6. demanrisu

demanrisu The Original Agaran Menace NPC

Why not just contribute to Starbounder and help it get content-complete? It's already worlds (ha ha, geddit, space pun) better than the other two.

7. jpmrocks