Tutorial Your Guide to accessing resources!

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by MrKalcifer, Mar 6, 2014.

1. MrKalcifer

MrKalcifer Space Spelunker

* I'm unsure if this works for users without Windows OS so apologies*

Introduction
    Hello there! Welcome to my first tutorail here on the starbound forums so I hope it actually helps, the whole point of this tutorial is to show you how to access all the ingame content easily which could be useful for a number of things such as animation, custom sprite art or even signatures/avatars! This is only one method also have that in mind, check out sexualrhinoceros tutorial too in the modding section http://community.playstarbound.com/...successfully-pack-and-unpack-pak-files.66649/
    Anyhow lets get too it, feel free to ask any questions and Il try and help you out as best I can! Also this is my first time doing a guide soooo apologies if I mess up ^_^!

Tutorial
    Step 1.
    First thing you will need to do is locate your Starbound folder which is usually located on your Local Disk, In my case its in C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps
    [​IMG]

Within your steamapps folder there is a folder called "Common" go ahead and open it and look for the folder named "Starbound" and open it. It will bring you to the Root folder of Starbound :D

[​IMG]

Step 2.
    So you've made it this far, good, good.... This is where the tutorial begins to differ as it depends on your OS, When you reach the root folder you will see something like this

[​IMG]

In my case, I use windows vista, so the thing I'm looking for is within win32. You're going to have to look for a batch file named "unpack_assets" , it does what it says on the label Unpacks the resources you need!

[​IMG]

A CMD window will appear shortly after which will look like this
    [​IMG]