Warzone Planets For Starbound

Discussion in 'Other' started by legoist, Mar 21, 2015.

1. legoist

legoist Orbital Explorer

Keep in mind that as I am not a game programmer, and therefore have no idea how much of a strain this would put on a computer, or how elaborate this would be to program:

it would be incredible if there was a planet type that was labeled Warzone. here, two races would be battling, and you could choose which side that you would fight for. there would be smaller quests where you (for example) healed a soldier, protected/fortified a base, created crops or mined for soldiers, or attacked an enemy base/army (so that defense, offense, building, mining, and farming would all be present). if you completed a quest, you would be awarded in pixels or weaponry. If you died on a warzone planet, you would respawn in an allied base (there would be the temporary teleporters that are currently being developed).

at the data screen on your ship for a warzone planet, there would be a small slider, indicating which side (or race) is winning. by changing the slider by completing the quests or killing enemy troops, you would earn cosmetic or real armor and weaponry, and there would be a significant award for entirely conquering a planet (through 100% completion of the slider in your favor). this could easily incorporate into the gameplay, as there could be key items, like ship upgrades, that you could earn by conquering a planet.