Modding Help [Tutorial] Genderbent mod

Discussion in 'Mods' started by keodau27, Jun 8, 2018.

1. keodau27

keodau27 Subatomic Cosmonaut

Figure that i should do something to document some stuff i found while doing a genderbent mod. Hopefully this can help anyone who want to make their own mod

Requirements:
    + Have some basic knowledge about coding first so it will be easier for you to read stuff like this Content Patcher guide ( i will try to insert in some really basic knowledge so it will be easier to understand since i'm a noob too )
    + Know how to unpack data from .xnb files and have an unpack Content folder ready for modding
    + Notepad ++
    + Has an image editor program to do the Character mod

Part 1: NPCDispositions.yaml (can be found in Content/Data)

So this file is really important, not only it helps you change the original names of the characters to the one you want but also make the hard-coded part of the game to acknowledge that the character has been changed from female -> male and vice versa

Firstly let's take a look at the code in the yaml file, i will use Abigail's code as example

At the end you can see the name "Abigail" is repeated, and that is the display name that will appear in places like under the character's portrait when talking or in the relationship tab.
    So change it to the name you want, i want to change Abigail's name to Abraham so i edit Abigail -> Abraham :

If you do it right, it will show up ingame like this :
    2018-06-09 00_56_26-Stardew Valley 1.3.15 - running SMAPI 2.6-beta.15 with 13 mods.png
    2018-06-09 00_55_03-Stardew Valley 1.3.15 - running SMAPI 2.6-beta.15 with 13 mods.png
    Lastly we have the gender part in field 4th ("teen" counts as 0)

Depend on what you're modding, change it either to male or female. This will help change the romantic relationship status of a character from girlfriend -> boyfriend or wife to husband and vice versa:

CHANGE.png