Modding Discussion Turning a space station into a ship(?)

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Lone-Road, Jul 1, 2017.

1. Lone-Road

Lone-Road Void-Bound Voyager

Hi there

This is an idea I had while looking at some ship designs using mods online, Ive wanted to make my own ship using a mod that lets you build it block by block but the bit by bit makes it a little tiresome, but then I thought what if I could use a space station desing for a ship, maybe replacing the ship file with one of a space station afeter building it using the prefabs? Unfortunately I have no modding knowledge whatsoever, but I did a little testing, mainly just placing a captains chair on a space station and see what happened, well, the ship moved, but not the space station, so, I ask any modder out there, is there a way to replace the ship file with the space station file so you could use it as the default ship?

2. lazarus78

lazarus78 The Waste of Time

Not possible. If you want the station prefab, they are extremely simple to make yourself.

3. bk3k

bk3k Oxygen Tank

I've yet to look at what makes the stations tic. I have no idea about placing the modules in a different sort of world because I haven't tried. Ships are indeed their own "world." That being said, I might already have what you want(sort of).
    http://community.playstarbound.com/...h-farming-dome-warehouse-200-crew-limit.3387/

It is due some updates, but already you basically have something equivalent to a station(with docked ships), that you can change block-by-block if you want(even building a block ship in one of the bays). And the whole thing operates like a ship. It is already quite large, and could be expanded to a size of up to 4096 x 4096 (max shipworld size).

I should look into the station layout pieces. And experiment with what I can do using the expanded API that 1.3+ offers. As you get into modding though, you could modify it how you like.

Of course I could mis-understand what you're looking for here.