1. Welcome to the Starbound support forums. Please check the support FAQs before posting: http://playstarbound.com/support

Resolved Starbound shuts down instantly upon startup (No logo or anything, issue with a mod)

Discussion in 'Starbound Support' started by Oddsock833, Jul 27, 2020.

1. Oddsock833

Oddsock833 Void-Bound Voyager

(SOLVED)

I am having an issue with my Starbound's startup. As soon as it starts, it just stops immediately and closes the window. Here's my log.

I'm not sure what it means, I'm no coder or anything like you people probably are. I can tell the problem is obviously the first message sent after the mods load: Asset dependencies form a cycle
    I just don't know what that means. Does it mean different assets have the same dependencies, and I need to fix that somehow? Or just... uninstall it, I guess?

I can't pinpoint the exact mod that's doing it, and uninstalling them all and reinstalling if it doesn't fix it is gonna take a long time. So it would be very helpful if someone told me how to fix this.

Last edited: Jul 27, 2020
  2. HenrikHolst

HenrikHolst Space Hobo

Yeah that is the exact same problem that my son have which I filed a post yesterday: https://community.playstarbound.com/threads/problems-with-asset-dependencies-form-a-cycle.161022/

From what I can gather the problem is that one (or more) mod(s) are referring to another mod as a dependency, but that this mod in turn is referring to the other mod as a dependency. Been googling around for this I discovered that this sometimes happen when a mod by error sets itself as a dependency, something that Starbound allowed but later banned in some version (don't know which one).