Planning a "Speedrun" of a sort, would appreciate some Help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ibara, Sep 26, 2016.

1. Ibara

Ibara Aquatic Astronaut

Okay, first time posting in the general forum, and in fact it's my first time posting on the site at all in...a number of months. But please, bear with me. Allow me to tell my story...

Back in late March/early April I decided on a whim to get Stardew Valley after seeing quite a bit of it all around the internet. I'd never played a Harvest Moon-type of game before, and I figured it would be a nice way to see if I liked the Farm Simulator genre. And I loved it, probably a little too much.

After getting used to how things worked, an idea made its way into my head. "Hey, that greenhouse sure seems swell. I wonder if I can get it by the first of Winter and grow some crops year-round?" And that's how it started. I started a fresh game and tried to unlock the greenhouse by Winter 1, Year 1. Unfortunately, my first attempt was rendered null by poor planning on my part, but I started fresh again and kept trying... A lot. So much that I quickly burned myself out on Stardew Valley in just a couple of weeks, and I haven't picked it back up since.

And then recently I heard about Update 1.1 that was just around the corner. I looked into it and saw what it had to offer, and now I have the itch to play again and maybe, just maybe, complete my little "speedrun" against the game's calendar. This was the first speedrun-like challenge I ever tried to do, and I don't want to leave it hanging forever without seeing if I can pull it off.