Modding Help Pet system overhaul - modders needed

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Auranim, Feb 8, 2018.

1. Auranim

Auranim Void-Bound Voyager

So I came up with an idea (that's, granted, hardly original, but I haven't seen it fleshed out yet), but I have zero experience (or interest) in modding, so if someone who's good at it want to give it a spin it would be awesome.

We've seen the rise of interest in the Pokemon mod, but it is subject to copyrights law. Plus, we don't need pokemon, we already have awesome randomly generated monsters that could potentially fill infinite pokedexes. It's sad that the only interaction we get to have with them is capturing them and having them follow you and attack monsters sometimes. So here's my idea for an overhaul of the pet system.

1. Remove all contact damage from hostile monsters.
    2. Assign one (or more) element to each pet based on a number of factors (the biome they spawn, them being aquatic/flying/terrestrial, their body parts, etc).
    3. Give pets a pool of semi-randomised (based on their body parts) attacks. One physical attack (that replaces them trying to "touch" the mobs). One elemental attack that matches their assigned element. One random utility skill (could be light, could be creating a slow or speed aura, attracting items to the player, being able to be mounted on etc.
    4. Add the ability for tamed pets to battle each other. I'm not sure how it could be done (that's more of a programming issue), but I theorise there could be specific blocks that could make them hostile towards other pets, so you could build an arena with those blocks and just throw your capture pods there.