Modding Help Personal Inventory, refrigerated

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Endorphinz, Aug 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Endorphinz

Endorphinz Void-Bound Voyager

I'm fairly new to modding Starbound. Which is not to say I know nothing about it, but consider me a complete beginner in most regards. I was told that the people here were very willing to lend help.

I was looking to make a simple mod that would cause the player's food inventory tab to behave like refrigerated storage, that is, food does not spoil as long as it's held in there. I'm not sure where the relevant scripts or objects are located though, the only thing I could find was the \scripts\items\rotting.lua script

So, if anyone could point me in the right direction for figuring this out, I would appreciate it!

2. Quenn1599

Quenn1599 Scruffy Nerf-Herder

In player.config inside the unpacked assets there's an "age items every: ..." field on line 12. Still looking for an item age multiplier for the player inventory like there is in the fridge containers, though.

The Avelon likes this.
  3. The Avelon

The Avelon Phantasmal Quasar

So you do want food to rot, but only when not refrigerated or held? Because patching rotting.lua is how mods like Fresh Fruit work.

You could patch player.config to remove the food aging line, and food in normal storage would rot. That might be what you are shooting for.

4. Endorphinz

Hey thanks for the quick responses.

Yes, that is correct, I want food to expire and behave normally outside of your inventory, I'm not looking to change the spoiling mechanic. If that's what the food aging line actually does, then it's exactly what I'm looking for.

I know that the unpacked files do their best to be self-explanatory, but a lot of the parameters are completely mysterious to me.

5. Endorphinz

So I just tried it, and completely removing "ageitemsevery" is not allowed, just crashes the game, so obviously that is needed for something.

6. Nexus Of Chaos