Order of Housing Upgrade Penalizes Childfree Artisans

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Sefyre, Jan 6, 2021.

1. Sefyre

Sefyre Space Hobo

Hello all,

I know it's a big ask, but I would greatly appreciate the consideration of making the cellar upgrade option come BEFORE the one that gives you the extra rooms which includes the MANDATORY children's room.

I'm an Artisan by profession, so why should I have to prioritize building a children's room addition before building a cellar? Additionally, how does it make sense to penalize my profession progression (unlocking iridium wines and cheeses) based on if I had previously added a children's room or not?

I'm in year 4 and though I've given bouquets and am at 10 hearts with everyone, I've refused to marry anyone because of this - because I wanted my cellar to complete my Artisan profession, I will also be pressured by my spouse to have children (that I don't want).

I'm childfree in real life out of necessity and by choice - I have a hereditary disorder that I refuse to pass on because I feel it would be irresponsible - and at this point, even in a game, I don't want to have children.

We have people who struggle with alcoholism, who have PTSD, who suffer from depression, who may be in unhappy marriages, who are having affairs, and who have stalkers, but we can't have childfree marriages?

Additionally, even if I were to have children, I would personally prioritize getting my career in order to get my family into the best position possible before adding a child.

All that said, especially as an Artisan, building a cellar to age wine and cheese shouldn't have to come with "BUT FIRST be able to have children".

By building my cellar, the choice to prevent pressuring to have children was taken away from me (by not expanding the house) and to me as an Artisan, this is not fair.

Thanks in advance for any consideration.

ChaosAzeroth likes this.
    • Cozymanta

Cozymanta Space Hobo