1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

Novakid Theory?

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by dreamingRoyalty, Mar 9, 2017.

1. dreamingRoyalty

dreamingRoyalty Big Damn Hero

Hi!!! This is my first time posting in the forum, but it's because I've made a theory about novakids! I'm tagging it spoilers encase anyone here hasn't seen the endgame cut scene yet!

Okay, so, My theory is that Novakids (Or rather, their Brands) are descendants of the Ancients seen throughout the game. After taking a step back and looking around Starbound, I started to notice a few pieces of an unfinished puzzle that is the question: Where do Novakids come from? And I think I can finish the puzzle!

My Evidence:
    Okay, I'll be taking a lot from the offical Wiki and the game itself, so sorry if I repeat stuff over and over again.

So! My first piece of evidence is a few parts of the Novakid species description itself:
    "These creatures, described by a human astronomer as “interstellar gas-bag people”, have no known single origin point: that information is long lost, as the Novakids have little to no desire to record their history, or even pass it on to their offspring."
    "– if a Novakid is depleted of his or her vital gases, the energy contained within their brand is instantly vented into the very fabric of space-time, leaving only a twisted metal symbol and a nearly undetectable warping of light around the area of death."

Now, let me bring up a single box of dialog from the end cut scene itself:

"Much was simply lost, though fragments of myself, ancient and wild, broke away and became something new... What little of myself remained stayed to watch what I left behind."