1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

Musings on the State of Starbound

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by Chyre, Jan 15, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Chyre

Chyre Void-Bound Voyager

So, I recently started playing Starbound again after not playing it for a long time, and decided to throw out my impressions of the latest build. On the whole, I'm pleased with the progress that's been made, though there are some minor things that could use tweaking. To be more specific:
    • The unique monsters are neat, but their spawn rates seem too high. I'm not seeing any of the normal procedural ones.
    • Why is food worth a hundred times more than rocket fuel?
    • The new weapon mechanics are cool.
    • The new vehicles are cooler.
    • 95% of system names are not system names. "Pyrocia Ridge" and "Regulus Rift" are names for hills and holes, not stars.
    • Have grass/shrub/vine growth been implemented? I know this was in the development roadmap at one point, but I haven't seen any evidence that it's out yet. And that makes me really neurotic about damage to the surface of my planets.
    • Planet and teleporter bookmarks are a godsend.
    • It seems every system has an airless planet and a gate. This is obviously to keep the player from getting stranded or lost, but it also makes the universe feel a lot more samey. Instead, why not have an immutable teleporter bookmark that appears when you first go to the outpost?
    • I like the outpost, but the way it's introduced feels contrived. I really feel like it should have a specific location within the universe, and you should initially have to find it in your ship, rather than just using dues ex teleporter to zap there instantly. Ditto for missions.