Materials for builders in starter planets

Discussion in 'Blocks and Crafting' started by Pedro Falcão, Mar 14, 2016.

1. Pedro Falcão

Pedro Falcão Pangalactic Porcupine

Hey, guys. First, as cliché as this line may sound, I wanted to say that I love Starbound even now. There's nothing else in sandbox games that I enjoy more than building, and Starbound already gives me plenty of options and freedom to do what I like. That said, I find it still a bit lacking in some aspects, and these became clearer when playing on nightly, last week. Not that the nightly is worse than stable, on the contrary, it's just that I was starting a new character with roleplay and took it really easy and slow. From my experience there and things I'd like to see, as a builder, I'd like to point some suggestions (and leave my base screenshot here for reference):

[​IMG]

- Plant Fiber is an almost non-renewable resource. The first problem I encountered when building my base were the colossal amounts of plant fiber I needed to build the small structures I wanted (for the ones on the screenshot, I think I used over 3000). That would be fine if I didn't care much about building and came to my base only after a long expedition around the planet, but it was annoying to stop building and make long trips just to find plant fiber. I'd suggest for normal trees (since they're easy to farm and renewable) to drop some, even if just a small amount. It's still odd if wood's easier to hoard than plant fiber, but this should at least make it less of a pain for us builders.