Chat Job stories!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pangaea, May 22, 2017.

1. Pangaea

Pangaea Forum Moderator

It was suggested to make a new topic for job stories so here we are! This thread is to share stories from your work experiences. No job is too small or too big. Past jobs, present jobs it doesn't matter! You could talk about what your duties were or how one of your coworkers always smelled like cheese. It should go without saying but do not share sensitive information! If there are certain secrets from your job(s) then don't talk about the specifics, especially if you signed any kind of legal non-disclosure agreement!

To start things off I'll post here what I posted in Hel's chatroom ...

I was a mechanic in a factory that made electronics for vehicles and taking care of moulding presses was part of the job. Injection moulding presses do exactly what they sound like they. They clamp down two moudling plates and inject material (plastic is a common one) at high temperature. Each plate is pretty heavy because they're usually made from solid steel to withstand the heat and pressure involved in the process. Switching out plates and tearing apart the table to clean and re-grease it were common tasks as a mechanic. Also adjusting the position and clamp depth of the plates to reduce flash and ensure the material got to where it needed to go (fill the moulds). Some plates have pneumatics to push the components out or water cooling attached. Those were really interesting to work with because you had to hook up the hoses correctly. Another task was maintenance of the presses. This included cleaning the joints of excess grease and wiping down the outside to clear it from oil and dirt. Most tasks involving the moulding presses were very dirty. There were times when, after working on the presses, the front of my shirt and jeans would be covered with grease. A lot of my work uniforms ended up stained (from this and other things). Oh, and also sometimes I