Item Destruction Outside?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hisuckers, May 11, 2017.

1. hisuckers

hisuckers Big Damn Hero

Hi guys,

I know this is an old thread-related issue. But does kegs, preserve jars, chests, etc... get destroyed due to weather? If so, does the lightning rod protect the items during stormy season? Or does durability affect them? Im still new to the game and I want to try a 116 keg plan because I have a greenhouse full of ancient fruit.

Thanks in advance!

• LuthienNightwolf

LuthienNightwolf Oxygen Tank

Not sure about machines and chests but I've definitely had lightning destroy path tiles and crops, so I'd say it's entirely possible. You may also run into the issue of debris spawning at the start of a season and taking out your stuff, I've heard of that happening to other people.

The more lightning rods you have, the less chance that a stormy day will ruin your machines but personally I wouldn't risk it, I'd just keep everything inside. I've had crops get hit even with the rods up and available (meaning not already producing a battery pack).

hisuckers likes this.
      • sunlite

sunlite Pangalactic Porcupine

Were there any weeds? A couple iridium sprinklers were destroyed from weeds on my farm

• nevyn21

nevyn21 Cosmic Narwhal

That can definitely happen. A good tip is to lay a piece of flooring underneath your stuff to prevent weeds from trying to spawn on that tile.

hisuckers likes this.
          • LuthienNightwolf

That's also a good way to prevent them being pulled up when you till the soil. So it serves two purposes. :D

hisuckers likes this.
            • hisuckers

hisuckers Big Damn Hero

Thanks for the info guys!

So, its better to place a few extra sheds and store everything inside and just farm crops outside.
              Is durability a real thing? If you go for a few years with the same chest will it break with time?

• LuthienNightwolf