Tutorial Invisible Objects

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by seancruz, Dec 31, 2013.

1. seancruz

seancruz Big Damn Hero

Hi guys, I am new to modding, don't know anything regarding programming, etc. YET, I am able to make starbound mods which is awesome; Chucklefish did an awesome job making it modder-friendly.

Anyways, I've made several objects for my mod and nearly every time, my object ends up being invisible. Crafting goes well, the icons shows, everything's good. But when I go to place the object down, it's invisible. I've looked everywhere on the forums and online for solutions, but people have had very few suggestions. These are some of the workarounds I've done. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. So many things can cause an object to be invisible.

Problems with invisible objects:
    1. A comma may be missing in any of the associated files. This includes the .frames, .object, and .recipe files. Likewise, there may be an extra comma where there's supposed to be none. This may happen if you delete a line with no comma, but forgot to erase the comma on the previous line.

2. Sometimes, you may misspell the "ObjectName", the "InventoryIcon" png file name, and the "dualImage" png file name. Make sure the file names match the icon.png names, or any other image files or names associated with the object you're trying to create. Same for .recipe files. It's happened to me numerous times, where an item name ends in an 's', and I'll forget to put that 's' elsewhere.

3. In your .frame file, there is a "dimension" command. Make sure it's correct. If you're making an animated object with frames on a horizontal orientation, then x in [x, 1] is the number of frames going from left to right. If it's vertical you switch it: [1, x].