Modding Help hairColorAsBodySubColor help?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by 1412, May 27, 2017.

1. 1412

1412 Void-Bound Voyager

I'm tying to make a race mod. I'll spare you the details, but at this point I'm pretty sure I need to get the bodySuColorAsHairColor thing working. I've taken a look at the hylotl and glitch code but can't quite seem to figure out how it's supposed to work. Can anyone give me a simple explanation? It has become very clear to me that I havent the slightest idea of how to get it to work myself...

For reference, this is a moth-themed species. it's got a beard of fluff along with some other fluffy bits on its hands and feet, and some antennae. There's only pone style of beard so I've figured out how to get it to recolor the beard without interfering with anything else (except hair color, which occupies the same slot as beard) but I'd love to get the fluffy bits and antennae the same colors.

Tell me if you need any files; I'm new to this whole modding thing and don't know what to upload.

2. projectmayhem

projectmayhem Spaceman Spiff

I havent looked into this before, but I would say it has something to do with this part....
    "bodyColor" : [
    { "ffca8a" : "f0f0f0", "e0975c" : "b1b1b1", "a85636" : "747474", "6f2919" : "4c4c4c" },
    { "ffca8a" : "d0d4e9", "e0975c" : "90a0cc", "a85636" : "566b86", "6f2919" : "314354" },
    { "ffca8a" : "f6cccc", "e0975c" : "d57979", "a85636" : "98464d", "6f2919" : "632530" },
    { "ffca8a" : "f9f9e9", "e0975c" : "d3d075", "a85636" : "938341", "6f2919" : "5f4d22" },
    { "ffca8a" : "f3d9b8", "e0975c" : "d49c6f", "a85636" : "995c44", "6f2919" : "643024" },
    { "ffca8a" : "e1f6c8", "e0975c" : "9fd776", "a85636" : "4e9944", "6f2919" : "2c6424" },
    { "ffca8a" : "ecd2f2", "e0975c" : "bc8dd0", "a85636" : "70528b", "6f2919" : "412e59" },
    { "ffca8a" : "f8e7f8", "e0975c" : "dca1dc", "a85636" : "9e5a9c", "6f2919" : "683267" },