1. Please be advised of a few specific rules and guidelines for this section.

WIP Figures' Tutorial Quests Mod

Discussion in 'Other' started by Figures, Dec 7, 2013.

1. Figures

Figures Poptop Tamer

Description

This mod changes the current tutorial from 6 quests to around 40. The idea behind it is to better introduce new players to the game and guide them through some of its concepts and early stages. This is my first mod, and I’m still learning the system, so expect bugs and please leave feedback.

Installation

• Download zip file from https://www.dropbox.com/s/rhjehmztaymjqp6/FiguresTutorialMod.zip
    • Unzip FiguresTutorialMod.zip
    • Navigate to your \assets\quests folder (probably found at C:\Program Files\steam\SteamApps\common\Starbound\assets\quests )
    • Make a backup of the quests.config file
    • Replace quests.config with the file supplied
    • Copy the FiguresTutorialMod folder over

You should now have a folder with two subfolders (FiguresTutorialMod, tutorial) and a file quests.config

[To restore: delete the FiguresTutorialMod folder and replace quests.config with your backed up version]

Known Issues

• - These quests will only work for new characters.
    • - Hunting Bow quest currently skipped due to issues with quest completion logic
    • - All quests of the type gather
    • - All quests are linear
    • - Requires original quests.config to be overwritten (aim is to do this without changing existing code)
    • - Final UFO battle not included
    • - Only takes player up to constructing copper armour
    • - Not tested on a server / multiplayer environment

Future Plans

• - Further Race Specific Quests
    • - Branching Quest Lines
    • - Kill Quests (Bounty Hunter Missions!)
    • - Special Missions!

Changelog
    v0.1 - Initial Release

Affero and wingedwolf123 like this.
  2. wingedwolf123

wingedwolf123 Subatomic Cosmonaut