WIP Evolution Mod - for longevity and science!

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Midnyght, Jan 17, 2018.

1. Midnyght

Midnyght Orbital Explorer

Hello everyone! So I'm a computer science professor who does biological modeling and I have been brainstorming about the potential for awesomeness of adding more interesting biology to Stardew Valley for a while. There are a lot of directions that I could go, so I wanted to chat and get some feedback.

The basic idea is that evolution is actually a really simple process and could be added in small ways to Stardew Valley. The first idea that came to mind was allowing the player to throw back fish and having the size of the fish evolve depending on what fish the player catches/throws back, the same as fisheries actually have to deal with.

There is a lot that could be done with crops as well, and if anyone with one of the 'more crops' mods wants, we could come up with a way that the player has to unlock new crops based on evolution of current crops (like Seeds of Memory but better). Instead of it being random, it would be based on harvested crops having certain properties (like size), being put into the seed maker, and replanted with potential mutations.

I will hopefully have a few students who will be working on the coding full time this summer, but it would be easier if we could work with a pre-existing mod (ie get it out faster). I don't have any sprite artists yet, so if anyone is willing to volunteer their sprites, that would be great too.

So, thoughts?

• Elrohir_of_Rivendell

Elrohir_of_Rivendell Scruffy Nerf-Herder