1. Welcome to the Starbound support forums. Please check the support FAQs before posting: http://playstarbound.com/support

Difficult situation, Starbound mod won't launch

Discussion in 'Starbound Support' started by Alliance Human Male, Jun 2, 2017.

1. Alliance Human Male

Alliance Human Male Void-Bound Voyager

Hi, I'm having major difficulty with my Starbound download from Steam. Two plus years ago, I was able to run the game with a particular mod that I liked but as of this time I am completely unable to as I have no knowledge of remedying the problem. I want to use the Mass Effect Edition mod, the game is unable to run it for reasons unknown to me; it just boots up, loads for a few seconds, and then shuts down. There's an eerier issue however - my Player folder is missing from "Storage". I have both Starbound and Starbound - Unstable, which is how I'm able to know that there's even a Player folder in the first place aside from having read other accounts on the forums here. I feel like I'm faced with an impossible situation, I just would like to get the mod to run and be able to play it once again. It's been this way since weeks ago, I'm returning for another attempt at solving this. Please help! (I figured that since that Player folder is missing without a trace, I might be SoL, but there's gotta be a way.) Thanks :)

P.S.: My Starbound should be up to date, as it is always kept up to date in accordance with the option I have had selected under Updates in Properties on Steam.

2. Nexus Of Chaos

Nexus Of Chaos Parsec Taste Tester

if i remember right, that mod is far outdated. check your log at <sb folder>/storage/starbound.log (may appear as starbound with type LOG or type Text Document). due to the nature of this but, these are likely not needed, but in the same folder, there are starbound.log.1 through .5 (may appear as starbound.log with types 1-5 respectively), these may be needed, but not until we determine the latest log is useless