1. Welcome to the Starbound support forums. Please check the support FAQs before posting: http://playstarbound.com/support

Closed Cannot start server or use multiplayer

Discussion in 'Starbound Support' started by Morgs, Dec 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Morgs

Morgs Seal Broken

Hi guys!

Firstly, I'm not too good with computers but I managed to open the correct port for port forwarding.

However when I launch the Starbound server, the whole thing just stops on the line 'Info: Scanning for router for portfowarding.' and doesn't progress any further. No errors or the likes come up but I also cannot close this and requires a system restart.

Because of this not working I decided to try connecting to a friends server, however the moment I click Join Server my game just freezes and nothing happens. I also cannot force this down and requires a restart.

I understand this is beta but I haven't come across anyone else with this problem (or maybe I'm not looking good enough) so any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Seripa likes this.
  2. Seripa

Seripa Subatomic Cosmonaut

Here's a bump for you. I hope your issue gets solved soon.

I know it takes a while when getting the server client to actually start one of your own, it will pause at port forwarding for quite some time.. I would leave it there for a bit, go off to play a game or something to see if anything happens. When it reaches "Info: Shutting down world alpha:(lots of numbers" oddly enough, that's when you're supposed to be set to go. Also don't worry about the plethora of warn messages you get, that's normal right now.

Another thing to consider, did you type in your personal IP into your port forwarding configuration? As in, the IP your router has assigned your computer personally.

Start > Run > Type in CMD > Brings up a black box > Type in ipconfig.