Block-based vehicle creation

Discussion in 'Mechanics' started by Ketoth, Jun 9, 2013.

1. Ketoth

Ketoth Phantasmal Quasar

We were talking about one of the updates in the IRC and this idea struck me.
    what if:you could build a structure out of blocks as usual and then add some sort of wheel part to it that would then turn it into a vehicle,adding physics to it and such ( i have really no idea of how this would be done,i'm no coder) this would be very interesting,since it would allow someone to build some sort of huge spaceship and then fly it around (a personal dream) or build something like the NASA crawler with a rocket on top and then move it into a launch site and then fly it into space

this would work in a quite simple way,you build your vehicle and then add two separate blocks,a pilot's chair,some sort of item to give you control of your building and wheels or engines to give it propulsion anything connected to the chair and not connected to the ground would then become part of the vehicle once you interacted with it,and once connected back to the ground it would loose its proprieties and reverse into a building (so you could dock your boat to the shore for instance)
    Perhaps each block could have its weight which would then be calculated into the final acceleration of the final physical object

OP will be edited as i come up with new ideas

Hyperex likes this.
  2. The idea looks nice! But this doesn't looks possible. They don't want even to add things as Elevators to the game because for some reason moving blocks won't work in servers for performance reasons. I don't know what will be their final approach in this :rolleyes:

3. frostybubbles

frostybubbles Scruffy Nerf-Herder

I like the idea but there should be a limit to how many blocks you can put on one another because If you put as many as possible you could just make a house that could go into space and there would be no need for a home base or a spaceship.

4. Ketoth