Modding Discussion A Mod Idea - 'Ruin's Ruins'

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Sky-Streamer, Aug 18, 2021.

1. Sky-Streamer

Sky-Streamer Orbital Explorer

Hello! I recently had an idea for a mod - and though I'm not too good at modding, I'd like to get the community's opinion on this idea. I may explore it further, or I may not - I really just want to improve and workshop the idea.

The mod would begin after the player destroys the Ruin. An NPC - either Dr. Akaggy, Elliot, or a new NPC entirely - would ask the player for help. They would say they went to explore one of the remaining fragments of the Ruin, only to see that the destruction site had been changed. Most of the remaining parts of the Ruin had coagulated into six large masses, and floated away into space. They had at least managed to get a tracker on one of them, but the other five are at large. They suspect that the six masses are all healing, becoming new instances of The Ruin.

The first quest would be to get to the remnants of this tracked Ruin Mass. When the player arrives, a Terraformer would be launched down onto the planet's surface with them. The goal of the mission would be to find and activate it - which would turn the mass into a meteor.

During the mission, some parts of the Ruin would be sampled, and the scientists of The Outpost would (in a remote location) try and observe how it behaved. They would also say that the five other masses were located in specific galaxies, their exact locations unknown. The player would travel to each of the five labelled galaxies in their own accord, interrogate (talk to) civilians to find the ruin's location, find the terraformer that had been launched onto it, and neutralize the mass.