WIP A confused Noobs attempt to make a christmas gift.

Discussion in 'Mods' started by ramholdt, Dec 1, 2016.

1. ramholdt

ramholdt Void-Bound Voyager

Hey, guys let's get this out of the way first. I have zero modding experience, in fact, I'm so bad at even installing mods that the first time I ever tried to install a mod (Dawn of War:Soulstorm) I borked the game so bad I had to reformat my computer just to play it again, and when i tried to recently install a friends mod for divinity original sin (a mod that just added some hex code values to the color palette) it took me 6 hours to figure it out and get it working (spoiler alert, make sure your game is fully installed -before- trying to add files).

Now that my massive level of incompetence is accurately represented.

My mother loves Stardew Valley, like LOVES it, she has 200+ hours in the game at this point. She's been a big fan of Harvest Moon and Animal Crossing for years, so it's only natural that she took to Stardew Valley like a fish to water. Or a conspiracy theorist to the message boards after seeing that weird creature come out from under the dock while fishing in the ocean at night, (seriously what the hell is that thing?).

So for Christmas, I decided (since it broke 24/7) to try and cobble together a mod pack for her to help breathe a little new life to a game she loves so much.

Well, I asked her if there were any changes she would like to make to the game (after explaining what mods were (but not mentioning it as a Christmas gift)) and one of the things she mentioned was more random NPC dialogue. Just so that if she talked to someone on a given day they might say something other than the one response infinitely. She mentioned a few other things but I've been able to find mods for everything else.

So the help I need is two fold