customizable ship

Discussion in 'Mechanics' started by Illmad, Apr 28, 2013.

1. Illmad

Illmad Phantasmal Quasar

No, but that's because it's the only thing in the game that isn't customizable, hence the point of this topic.
    What do you prefer?
    Near-infinite possibilities to design your own space ship, but the space ship will look somewhat blocky-
    Or a prettier, less blocky ship that looks the same for everyone?

2. ktb537

ktb537 Space Penguin Leader

[​IMG]

BoboTheEpic likes this.
  3. BoboTheEpic

BoboTheEpic Big Damn Hero

Well, Illmad's designs are mockups :p
    Let the artists go wild with the idea and it'll probably look better.

4. Illmad

Illmad Phantasmal Quasar

Butbutbut... I AM an artist :(

Seriously though, all the pixel related stuff (except the blocks and aesthetic objects) are taken from screenshots. I don't really show my true skills in this topic, but I honestly don't know how I can make this not look blocky without there having to be added mechanics that the average player wouldn't find too advanced.
    Either that, or an incredibly skilled tile-set artist needs to do some insane amounts of work.

5. BoboTheEpic

Well, sure, but have you explicitly been working with the atmosphere of this specific game for months and months? :p

6. Illmad

Illmad Phantasmal Quasar

Nope. I've worked on pixel art on my own though, but that was just for fun :)

FYI, I did some changes to my previous post while you were replying to it as well.

7. Megumi

Megumi Phantasmal Quasar

It would be cool if will be able to receivers players to ur ships :3

8. Exkaiser

Exkaiser Big Damn Hero

What, you mean invite other players onto your ship? That's confirmed. Also, in the mockup for the party UI, there's an option to right-click on your party members and warp them up to your ship.

9. Latiz

Latiz Starship Captain

10. Archer

Archer Spaceman Spiff