Modding Help Someone explain this to me like I'm 5

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by matrixparadox, Sep 2, 2019.

1. matrixparadox

matrixparadox Space Hobo

Attempting to use a .pak mod. I'm new to modded starbound, and don't know an incredible amount of computers. Was told by a member of the group I'm in that I will need to unpack it, so I looked at the tutorial and was hit with "This guide will assume you know what you're doing and are a competent computer user." Which I do not, and am not. Could someone please explain this for someone who has a very basic level of computer skills, and is a fairly casual player?
    Not sure if this is needed, but I'm running Windows 10.

2. Errors4l

Errors4l Spaceman Spiff

So pak files are basically zip files, but for Starbound. They're just a way to store many files (assets) in one file. This can (and usually does) reduce loading times, because your hard drive only has to find a single file.

Unlike zip files (which are used world wide for just about anything), pak files are specific to Starbound. There isn't any native support for it, so you need software capable of reading the file before you can view its contents.
    Luckily, Chucklefish have bundled some tools that allow us to unpack (and pack) these pak files. Well, it wouldn't make sense for them not to because it's kind of vital (but not required) when releasing mods.

For Windows, you can find these tools in ...\Steam\steamapps\common\Starbound\win32. They're called asset_unpacker.exe and asset_packer.exe for unpacking and packing respectively. We'll only look at unpacking for now.
    To use the unpacker, you can't just run them or drag files on them. You will need to open a command line window first.
    Windows key => Command Prompt (cmd.exe).

Navigate to the folder using the CD command.
    CD F:\Steam\steamapps\common\Starbound\win32