1. This forum is archived for reference. For support & bug reports visit the help section of forums.stardewvalley.net

Missing/Corrupt Save File Troubleshooting Guide

Discussion in 'Support' started by ConcernedApe, Apr 7, 2016.

1. MaxMustBeUnique

MaxMustBeUnique Intergalactic Tourist

I recently got a back up drive for my computer, but in the process of moving things over, I somehow messed up my game files. Stardew is the only game I want to recover because I've put so much of my life into this game. Please, can someone help me recover my file? It means so, so much to me. I've tried following the steps but I'm not very good with computers. My game files also show up with no hair and no time played. Please help

Attached Files:

• Blorp

Blorp Big Damn Hero

This save loads fine for me. What you described sounds like what happens when a beta (1.3) game is used with non-beta (1.2). Follow the beta instructions to make sure you have the beta selected, and if it already was, use the "verify integrity of game files" on the local files tab in the Steam properties. That should restore the co-op button on the main menu, and your save should work again then.

• Jenny1208

Jenny1208 Space Hobo

Hey Guys,

Ich really hope you can help me out,
        I got the same problem like "Luka KLLP" in 2016 with the save files,
        I quote: "
        Following your steps, it seems my "SaveGameInfo" file is corrupt. However, I don't have another character, so how do I fix this :p (I tried using the _old save game info file, but that didn't work)

EDIT 1: I downloaded a fresh SaveGameInfo file from this thread: http://community.playstarbound.com/threads/how-to-fix-corrupted-save-files-tutorial.110048/

and the game still crashes when I click "LOAD" on the main menu. So perhaps this isn't the problem?

EDIT 2: I can't start a new game either, the game crashes when trying to Save. Surely a little more is going on here than a corrupt SaveGameInfo file?