Modding Discussion Portrait Modders, What's Your Process?

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Seismothesaurus, Jun 1, 2017.

1. Seismothesaurus

Seismothesaurus Scruffy Nerf-Herder

I'm kind of new to pixel graphic editing (finished 2.5 portrait/sprite mods plus my avatar) and have started to develop my process, but I'm curious how other people go about it. Let's share tips and strategies!

Here's my setup:
    -Program: Photoshop CS6
    -Hardware: Just a mouse and my damaged wrist begging me to stop
    -PNG Canvas: Generally blown up to 700/800% so the pixel grid is visible to do the blocking and rough work, and brought down to 400/500% (no grid) to do shading and check that transition points make sense (hair to skin, skin to clothes, etc.)
    -Editing: Layers, layers, layers, layers, layers--for copy/pasting and for experimenting (I think my last sprite had 28 layers by the end)

I'm playing around with summer looks for Kent right now, and I decided to periodically snapshot the work so I could actually see what I was doing and if it seemed to be progressing. It's not done, but here's what I've got so far (cutting out a couple that look extremely similar).

Part 1: Military t-shirt (based on what he wears under his coat) - blocking, shading, shadow refining, texturing
    stage 2.PNG stage 3.PNG stage 4.PNG stage 6.PNG

Part 2: Crew cut (first time doing hair, if you can't tell, lol) - blocking, retexturing, recolouring, highlight/shading, trying to make him look less like a Vulcan
    hair stage 2.PNG hair stage 4.PNG hair stage 5.PNG hair stage 7.PNG

So, portrait modders, how do you work? What do your portraits look like along the way? What programs do you use? Have you had any experience with working on a phone/tablet (I imagine the touchscreen would be really nice, but Photoshop is so versatile it would be hard for me to use something else). Any super-secret, super-amazing tips for the rest of us?

• SarahSyna

SarahSyna Subatomic Cosmonaut