Any tips for a new Stardew Valley player?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SteelSt0rmMaster, May 24, 2017.

1. SteelSt0rmMaster

SteelSt0rmMaster Master Chief

Hi, I just started playing Stardew Valley. I was wondering if anyone had any advice about what to do when you're getting started.

I just reached the part where the mines open and Lewis takes you to that really old building.

Thanks!

• Lilliput

Lilliput Supernova

This has been the subject of many threads ere now, so, I'll tack on my usual boilerplate for advice!

Don't be in a hurry. You've got all the time in the world to explore and the game is immensely forgiving of mistakes. You cannot ruin your save without putting some serious deliberate effort into doing so, so relax.

If you haven't already done so, repairing the bridge on the eastern side of the beach is an early goal to work for-- it takes 300 wood and will open up a good early-game source of income in the tidal pools.

Your first major purchase should be the tier-one backpack upgrade at Pierre's. It will double your inventory capacity and make your early game so much easier. The tier-two upgrade can wait a bit, but the first upgrade is very helpful early on.

Forage. Anything which is not nailed down is yours. Anything which you can pry up was not properly nailed down. Pick flowers as gifts or to sell, forage for snacks-- dandelions, leeks, wild horseradishes-- are all great ways to replenish your energy and get more out of your day. There is a special place to the south of your farm in the Cindersap forest, on the island south of Leah's cabin, where Spring Onions grow daily. Grabbing as many as you can get when you're in the neighborhood is a good source of energy, or income if you prefer to sell them. In mid Spring and mid Autumn, there will be berries growing on many bushes throughout the Valley (possibly even on your own farm, depending on which map you picked).