Race [RETOOLED] The Volans Need YOU! [New Name | New Look | Prev. "The Jax"]

Discussion in 'NPCs and Creatures' started by BionicKraken, Dec 19, 2013.

1. BionicKraken

BionicKraken Subatomic Cosmonaut

I think you're right. :/

There's a big tug of war between sc-fi influence and fantasy influences on this forum. I'll try to reach a middle ground.

Change their look how, exactly? I wanted to do rabbits because as a human touchstone, rabbits = breeding. Maybe I could look at cockroaches? Would that work better for people? I feel like that's too "harsh" of a look for the subject matter. Don't really know what else breeds a lot. Yeah, I don't really want cat races, either. Hm... I'll have to think about this...

But, again, I'm really not an artist, so I don't know how good I'd be at armor/weapons/airships. I'm studying to be an accountant - I look at this as a fun activity. :p

Thanks for the suggestions! I'm working hard at not working on schoolwork today/this week/since I got home so I'll try to to work on some variations and see how (or if) people respond.

2. Monochromegoggles

Monochromegoggles Phantasmal Quasar

What about bees or wasps? If you eliminated the necessity for a queen, you could still keep with the mass population theme, and would keep well with their collective agreement to a general mindset without them being totally hive-minded.

You could mix in some interesting features from other creatures so they are not entirely of one particular genus as well. Had this been suggested back well before starbound was beta released, you might have been able to get away with a soley insectoid appearence, but now you might really need to add in additional non-insect appearences to up the appeal.

There's a pretty wide variety of ocean life that have some cool natural adaptations that could be augmented to them without them becoming fishy or amphibious.

3. AldoKaido

AldoKaido Starship Captain

Or what about something that ain't an animal on two legs?