Villagers' Hearts and Interaction

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MadBiskit, Apr 16, 2017.

1. MadBiskit

MadBiskit Void-Bound Voyager

Hi, this is my first time playing the game and posting here; I've been trying to look for a post about the villagers' heart/interaction but I seem to be at a loss.

I've been interacting and giving gifts to most of them but it seems like Vincent and Jas (other NPCs as well) goes from 1 to 2 hearts and 0 the next day.

Is this a bug?

In any case, here's my uploaded save file: http://upload.farm/all?series=1CZkEY

Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
    • blind3rdeye

blind3rdeye Big Damn Hero

There's heaps of information on the official wiki about how the hearts system works. But I warn you, once you've started looking up stuff like that, it becomes a lot more "gamey" and less immersive. (You start trying to play to optimise the hearts rather than to build relationships with characters in a more natural way.)

Here is some general information (with a fair bit of detail); and you can also see information on the wiki pages for individual characters and items.

I started looking at the wiki after I got a bit frustrated about particular gifts having very unexpected reactions... (eg. Why does everyone hate elvish Jewellery? It sounds like it would make a pretty good gift!)

MadBiskit likes this.
      • MadBiskit

I've been searching at the wiki but only looking at individual npcs. Thank you for pointing me to the right direction.

• Borodin

Borodin Oxygen Tank

I've never seen hearts decrease by two before marriage unless you make a really bad choice--such as at a festival. The Luau's one: bring something that's really bad to the potluck soup, and your relationships in general will decrease.